Breaking News: Grab Hitch Hits Glitch

Grab Hitch seems to have hit some glitches within their app with users being logged into the accounts belonging to OTHER users.

Update (1742H, 30 August, 2019)

Grab Hitch has sent out the following message to its drivers to reassure them:

“Dear Hitch Driver, earlier today we experienced an issue in our system. As a result, for a brief window of time some of you were shown another driver’s details in your profile. This issue has been fixed and we’d like to assure you that at no point was your wallet compromised or at risk. We apologise for this issue. If you have any questions please reach out to us via Help Centre in the app.”

Update (1310H, 30 August, 2019)

Around 1pm, the glitch seems to have been fixed by Hitch.

Kudos to such fast rectification!

Grab Hitch user logs into somebody else's account, views their wallet details. The right image shows some of the different user accounts that he was connected to.

Grab Hitch user logs into somebody else’s account, views their wallet details. The right image shows some of the different user accounts that he was connected to.

First reports of the Hitch Glitch came in around noon from users in Singapore.

A Grab Hitch driver had a confirmed ride from another driver in his account. To pick up or not to pick up?

A Grab Hitch driver had a confirmed ride from another driver in his account. To pick up or not to pick up?

Users were logged into the accounts of OTHER users when they get into the app.

The basic profile information eg. name, email and phone number remain correct.

But other information, such as the profile photo, car make & model, car photo, license number, confirmed rides reflected that of the “other” driver.

They could see the wallet details in these other accounts as if it were their own.

“I’m disappointed with Grab Hitch and worried for the riders,” said Patrick Poh, a disgruntled Grab Hitch driver.

Not sure if they could cash out the balance but that would be criminal so we haven’t tried that.

And the “other” account sometimes changes when changing screens viewed within the app.

Also several different users could be logged into the same “other” user.

Wonder what caused the glitch.

Two different tech4tea.com readers who sent in their screenshots were logged on to the same unknown driver's account.

Two different tech4tea.com readers who sent in their screenshots were logged on to the same unknown driver’s account.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply